PDA

View Full Version : aligning table saw...

chris fox
01-20-2007, 6:03 PM
My job today is to get my Jet contractors saw up to square. This is my first time at a true brakedown and getting this dialed in. The saw was given to me and I dotn have the manual and did a search which led to discussing PALS.
Is their a link or site that does a set by step for adjusting the arbors etc.?

thanks

CPeter James
01-20-2007, 6:21 PM
Maybe this will help.

http://home.metrocast.net/~cpjvkj/tstu.htm

CPeter

glenn bradley
01-20-2007, 6:57 PM
Definitly PALS. One of the best $20 I ever spent, seriously. Order them today. Beyond that a search for 'table saw alignment' via Yahoo gave me a ton of info. Here's another to add to CPeter's:

http://www.newwoodworker.com/basic/tsalign.html

chris fox
01-20-2007, 7:28 PM
Ok. I got the trunnions down to .005" compared to .015-020" where it was. But read a good goal is to get .003". I loosed the 4 bolts(2 front and 2 rear) The front bolts are PITA jsut because of access. I am using a piece of hardwood wedged against the base for leverage while I tighten the rear 2 bolts. I CAN SEE WHY PEOPLE USE THE PALS!
The problem is the start point I measure to gets shifted thus always remeasuring and not being able to keep the start point of measure accurate??:confused: Any other input to really zero in?
Thanks for the links, I found both of these after I sent the post, thye have helped.

Chris

glenn bradley
01-20-2007, 7:42 PM