PDA

View Full Version : Need help on lathe chuck

Don Farr
11-23-2003, 10:16 AM
I am very limited with the lathe tools that I have. I need a good universal chuck to hold small bowls, both inside and out. Just looking in Penn State and they run from about $40.00 to $200.00. What should I be looking for in the way of features?
Remember, I'm a fairly new turner.

Ace Karner
11-23-2003, 10:26 AM
Don, I'm new to turning also so you'll have to take that into your evaluation of what I have to say.

I recently purchased the "PSI Mini-Grip 2" chuck system from Penn State Ind. I'm a mech Eng technologist by education, and I feel that the fit and finish on this chuck, as well as it's operation is really quite nice for the price. I've never used another chuck, so I can't five you any comparisons just my feelings.

Good luck on your search and happy turning.

Kevin Gerstenecker
11-23-2003, 10:33 AM