PDA

View Full Version : Drywall question

Thomas Haider
01-18-2007, 6:44 PM
Hello, I've been lurking here for a long time & have just recently joined. Before I go further, I must say that you guys are my heroes. Rock stars you are. On my first post I wnated to show you pictures of my shop ect. but priorities got in the way. So on to my question.... I have a smallish bathroom 12 X 8. I just peeled off the paneling that was glued to the drywall (dw). Naturally the paper from the dw came off with the paneling. The dw is in good shape, stable , nothing loose or crumbling, other than the shreds of paper hanging all over. I was going to seal it with primer and try to skim coat it which I've never done before. My LOML vetoed that idea because peeling off the remaining bits of paper left, before sealing, would take forever. She wanted me to panel it. I vetoed that and suggested 1/4" dw screwed & glued to the existing dw. So I'm doing that. I'll be doing the tapeing, sanding & primeing too.This is my question--- when I butt the dw against the ceiling, do I have to tape that corner? Or can I caulk it and plaster that tapered edge? The ceiling is textured, if I have to tape that corner I'll have to scrape some of the texture off the ceiling to alow a flat surface for the tape. If I caulk that
corner & plaster will it crack over time?

Dewayne Reding
01-18-2007, 6:53 PM
I would tape all the seams. Drywall unsupported for 16" anywhere is a bad plan. Should you choose not to go that route, then secure the top edge as well as possible. You can scab in some nailers if necessary between the studs. By the time you do that you will have had time to do it correctly and just tape it.

Disclaimer, I am not a pro drywaller, but I have done complete houses, and patched enough so I do have a clue.

Steve Clardy
01-18-2007, 7:18 PM
Screw the top every 8" and caulk it.
There is 2 by material all the way across that wall.

No sense is messing up the ceiling

Ben Grunow
01-18-2007, 8:56 PM