PDA

View Full Version : which laser should I buy

Ron Kerpsack
01-18-2007, 1:17 PM
Hi all
I am looking at buying a laser engraver for my shop for personal use and to start up a engraving business. Parttime at first the maybe full time later on. I would welcome input from you all as which one to buy and which ones to stay away from. I am a field service engineer for an optics company so I know a little about lasers. Any and all input is welcome. I also do woodturning , pens etc so a rotary feature would be a requirement.
Have a good one
Ron K:)

Bob Yeager
01-18-2007, 3:20 PM
This question has been asked several times...(I posted a similar question back in October when I was looking)..try a search on this site and I'm sure some good info will pop up.

I found the following site good also for info..you will find their "2006 buyers guide".

http://www.engraversjournal.com/articlelist.php

Happy shopping.

Bob

Pete Simmons
01-18-2007, 3:24 PM
Ron: I have engraved a lot of penssee woodpenman.comI have never used a rotary attachment to do them.Also I am very happy with my Epilog Mini-18 35 wattLook up some threads by me a few years ago. A lot of talk about your very question.
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=15448

Brent Vander Weil
01-18-2007, 4:21 PM
I have to agree with my friend Pete on this one... I have the very same machine as he Epilog MINI 18 35W and it has done the job quite nicely for me.

Although I did end up buying from Rob at usedlasers.com I was in touch with the Epilog rep in my area also and he was the best... funny you should be an optics guy... I am considering the purchase of the 1.5 lens for my machine, just have to overcome my squeaky tight wallet :-D LOL

The more you search and read on this site the more you will be able to make a good pick...

Joe Pelonio
01-18-2007, 4:30 PM
Ron: I have engraved a lot of penssee woodpenman.comI have never used a rotary attachment to do them.