PDA

View Full Version : How to do plumbing access for basement tub?

Brian Elfert
01-18-2007, 12:13 AM
The local building inspector is insisting on a plumbing access for the trap for a basement bathtub. How is this normally done for a basement? The furnace is directly on the other side of the wall so I can't make an access panel there.

My house was built in 2001 and I don't believe there is a plumbing access for my master bath shower. Has the code changed?

Brian Elfert

wells conklin
01-18-2007, 6:04 AM
Brian, I'm no expert on this, just a homeowner. I'm assuming your tub is already installed. Is there any room at all on the other side of that wall? The furnace is there, but is there even a foot of clearance between the furnace and the wall? It may be very difficult to build an access panel there, but is it impossible? I understand you may be dealing with an unreasonable inspector, but if you can meet the minimum requirement for an access to that plumbing, you should be legal.
Best check with a local contractor or plumber for his practical interpretation of the code and/or check out the code for yourself at the public library or city hall. Ask the chief building inspector for an interpretation. You don't want the inspector that has been to your house to feel you're going over his head to circumvent his authority, but you want him to know you are serious about meeting codes also.
These are probably things you have already thought about. Wish I could help more. Good luck! Let us know how this turns out.

Brian Elfert
01-18-2007, 7:43 AM
Tub is not yet installed. Bathroom was not finished when house was built, but plumbing was installed under slab.

There is basically zero room behind furnace to do anything. Building inspector during final inspection of house said furnace didn't have proper clearances, but since mechanical inspector passed it, he let it go.