PDA

View Full Version : Equipment advice please?

Richard Graniczny
01-16-2007, 7:06 PM
I am/will be a complete newbie when it comes to woodworking and I am looking for equipment suggestions. I am a graphic artist specializing in turn of the century design elements in vector. I am starting to get a large request base to make our graphics available to woodworkers. Being a perfectionist at heart, I want to be able to try the designs out in wood before I offer them. This will probably be the extent of my involvement in woodworking. I had seriously looked at the CarveWright machine but have seen some horror stories in the forums at that site. I am not looking for something that will be problem plagued. I need a small sized, fast but dependable machine to use for testing purposes. Speed is essential due to the extremely large size of the portfolio. In addition I may start the conversion process for 3d vector models in v3m, stl and rlf formats. Thank you in advance for any input.
Richard

Joseph B. Chritz
01-16-2007, 7:41 PM
Richard,
You may be better off finding someone close that already loves woodworking and has some CNC equipment. They will also have the necessary equipment to prepare the wood, storage space for extra material, finishing capability, and more. They can invest the hours needed to become proficient and pay for the equipment. They can be responsible for repairs and overhead. You can concentrate with what you are good at and already enjoy. After watching this work for a while you can decide when you want to take over more.
If the first person doesn't work out to your liking, try somebody new.
Who knows, you may find you really like woodworking. There are worse things.
Joseph

Bruce Volden
01-16-2007, 8:00 PM
Richard,