PDA

View Full Version : Wood Paneling and Painting

Scott Neblung
11-21-2003, 9:13 AM
Any painting experts in the shop?

I need some painting expertise.
What is the best paint/cover to first apply to wood paneling as a primer or does it even matter?

I have 3 sides of a bedroom being converted into a office and need make a decision and purchase before sat am. If time would allow, the best route would be to strip the walls of this ugly paneling and the lath and plaster below it and drywall it. I simply dont have the time to do it right now.

Any advice?

TIA>>>>Scott

Roger Fitzsimonds
11-21-2003, 1:20 PM
When I did painted my paneling, I used kilz as a primer. then used latex interior over that. It has worked out quite well. I am not an expert but hope this helps.

Roger

Hal Peeler
11-21-2003, 2:41 PM
Scott, we just did this in our living room. I assume you're talking about the paneling sheets instead of solid wood paneling. We used oil based Kilz primer (oil recommended by a painter friend) and then regular interior latex paint. Worked fine but the oil based primer was kind of a mess. Not to bad overall though.
Hal

Scott Neblung
11-21-2003, 7:22 PM
I ended up going to the Multi colored borg (Menardos) and asked the paint *experts* and was told to just roughen up the face with sandpaper and shoot it w/ interior Dutch Boy.

Since its coming down in 3-5 yrs I care, but not really, how it looks.

Appreciate the replies !

Scott....a painting fool for most of tommorow....does that count as shop time ?

Phil Phelps
11-28-2003, 6:32 PM