PDA

View Full Version : cutting logs (Im new to this)

Irvin Cooper
01-14-2007, 4:27 PM
Good afternoon everyone.

First, I am totally new to wood turning. My very kind neighbor gave me a lathe recently, and i have never turned anything. At all. Please keep my total lack of experience with turning in mind when you read below.

The city came in to "clean up" around a creek that is at the back of our neighborhood in december. They have probably 10 +/- black cherry trees in piles with everything else to I guess burn or haul off when things dry out in the spring. These trees have been down for about a month or so. The cherry trees that have caught my eye and are accessible to someone with no heavy equipment are all between 12 - 20 inches in diameter.

My questions are as follows:

1. Would these be worth cutting out of the pile for turning?
2. Have they been on the ground to long?
3. If 1 & 2 are yes and no respectively, is 4 ft the right length to cut these into since the lathe will accept up to what looks like a four foot piece?
4. What is the procedure for treating these so that they will dry properly?
5. Are there any books or web sites you can refer me to to get me started in this?

It kills me to see these trees go to waste (I guess I am a tree hugger in a sick sense).

Thanks.

Irv

Kurt Rosenzweig
01-14-2007, 5:02 PM
Check out Bills site! A lot of good info!
http://wonderfulwood.com/

PS: His videos are excellent!

Ken Fitzgerald
01-14-2007, 5:08 PM
Irvin........if you are just starting to learn to turn.....By all means...get your hands on the wood....You can use all the practice you can get! I know ...I'm just learning.....You can practice on anything wood........

It'll be green and the chances are it's starting to crack or check but you can cut back until you get beyond the effected area and have some green wood to work with....Green wood has to be handled using certain methods....