PDA

View Full Version : Toolrest Poll

Joash Boyton
01-12-2007, 6:30 PM
Just a quick poll I thought I'd put up....self explantory.

Joash

Keith Burns
01-12-2007, 6:39 PM
Ok, Joash, you are wrong. Do we all do it ? Probably at one time or another. Is it safe ? NO. All it take is accidently knocking the rest into a spinning piece turning at 900 rpm and the rest catching and at best damaging the wood, at worst causing it to come apart and throwing a piece into your face which break's your nose. That is asuming your are practicing other unsafe things like not wearing a faceshield.

Lisa Gilbert
01-12-2007, 7:05 PM
I voted no, but I'm brand new to turning and I'm a chicken. I'm also trying to set a good example for my boys when they use the lathe -- I should probably follow the rules I insist they follow. And my husband claims he likes my face the way it is....

Reed Gray
01-12-2007, 7:11 PM
Mostly I turn bowls. When I am just starting up a bowl, I will set the speed at about 100 rpm, then move the tool rest and banjo into position, before turning the speed up. While turning, when I need to move or adjust it, I will do it without turning off the lathe. I know where the wood is, and don't have any problems. It is pretty much the same thing for spindles. I do a lot of this, and have learned. I wouldn't recomend it for everyone. It can be done safely, but caution must be used. One quote I heard was " a tool rest makes a lousy scraper".
robo hippy

Dennis Peacock
01-12-2007, 7:14 PM
I move the toolrest sometimes while the lathe is still running. But I always try to stop the lathe, adjust and get back to it.

Which reminds me....I really need to get back to turning one of these days. :rolleyes:

Bonnie Campbell
01-12-2007, 7:16 PM
The only time I move the tool rest when the lathe is still turning is if I am pulling the rest away from the wood.

Curt Fuller
01-12-2007, 7:37 PM