PDA

View Full Version : Scrap, Cut-Offs Request

Ed Maloney
01-12-2007, 5:46 PM
My Epilog is finally on order. Negotiated a free stand and an extra year warranty, so I'm all set. Thanks to everyone here I know what compressor and blower that I will purchase, as well as how I will accomplish the venting, among other things.

One thing I don't have at this point is an idea of how to get materials to start practicing on economically. Being a newbie, I don't want to spend a fortune on buying materials at this point since I'll end up butchering all of it while I learn the correct settings.

Sooooo, if there are some folks out there that would like to reduce their scrap piles to help out a newbie, I would really appreciate it. We can discuss logistics via PM. Of course, if someone has other suggestions please let me know as well!

Thanks!

Joe Pelonio
01-12-2007, 6:39 PM
My usual supplier sells scrap pieces by the pound, a lot less than normal SF prices. They are only on the west coast, but there must be a place like that out your way. Unfortunately free acrylic cross country is almost as expensive as buying it as it's heavy to ship. In my case you wouldn't get much, I have a recycler pick them up and 99% are 12x24 skeletons with just the edges and a few thin connecting strips left. I hate to suggest this but I suppose you could even do a weekend dumpster dive out back of the local plastic place:eek:

Dave Fifield
01-12-2007, 7:18 PM
Congratulations on ordering your new laser Ed. Which model did you go for in the end (edit: DUH!! look at his sig Dave!)? You should get a stack of materials samples from various manufacturers with your new laser. I haven't had time to crack open the sample packs that came with my new Epilog recently....will do it sometime soon I'm sure.

Usable sized offcuts are only $1/lb at Tap Plastics. That's pretty cheap! You should try going on the scrounge around your local industrial areas...

Bob Yeager
01-12-2007, 7:38 PM