PDA

View Full Version : Help on buying a planer

Tullie Templet
01-12-2007, 1:36 PM
I am looking to buy my first planer but I am not looking to spend alot. I am just getting into WW and I am just lookig for a low end model to start. The models I am looking at are Delta tp305 $199.00, Delta TP300R (recon) $199.95, Delta TP400LS $269.01, Grizzly G0505 $239.00 or the craftsman 21758 $249.00. I know with these models I will get snipe but I can overcome it for now. I would just like to know which will be the best value for my money and reviews if anyone has one of these. Thanks alot.

John Michaels
01-12-2007, 1:41 PM
I own the Grizzly 12 1/2 inch planer. I gets the job the done, but I don't think it will stand the test of time. I should have spent about $200 more dollars and purchased the Makita. The most expensive tool is one you have to replace prematurely.

Jim Thiel
01-12-2007, 2:22 PM
You may want to consider future resale value also. Check the auction sites for you models and see how close some of them get to new retail. Some planers hold almost 60% value, while others become anchors and doorstops.

regards, Jim

scott spencer
01-12-2007, 3:03 PM
The TP400LS is the former 22-560 which is a pretty well proven moderately equipped planer. I liked mine alot before I upgraded to the 22-580. Snipe was really minimal, hardly occurred. I still like some features on the 560 better. It has a cutterhead lock, which is critical in reducing snipe...I don't think the TP305 or the Grizzly have one, and I"m not sure about the CMan. It also has an inexpensive (< $20) option for a dust chute. "LS" means it has a leg stand which is always nice.

$270 shipped is a good price for the TP400LS.

http://www.epinions.com/content_55772089988

Dan Gill
01-12-2007, 3:56 PM
I haven't priced one in quite a while, but I have the Ridgid planer, and it has been very good for me. I'll occasionally get some snipe, but it's always operator error.

Jack Ganssle
01-12-2007, 5:52 PM
Dan,