PDA

View Full Version : Yes...a new guy...

Walt Helms
01-12-2007, 11:22 AM
I'm relatively new to turning...done quite a few spindles, etc., so I'm pretty comfortable here.

Now I've "graduated" to hollowing. My first several attempts have involved "Goblets 101".

Here are my questions:

1) Since the goblet blank is approx 3" in diameter, what is a "good" turning speed (after roughing)?
2) I'm using a Termite to hollow. On some cuts, I get a nice ribbon of wood coming off of the cutter. Other times, I get a nasty vibration with lots of saw dust...no ribbons. Any suggestions here? More speed, less speed, sharper tool? Currently, I've had the lathe speed at 850 & 1250 RPM, and experienced the vibration / chatter at both speeds.
3) As I transistion from the goblet to the stem, I seem to get a "spiral" cut on the stem itself. Is this an indication of the lathe speed being too slow, too fast, dull tool, or a "burr / point" on the tool? :) It would take a heck of a lot of sanding to remove this spiral! :)
4) What is the "best" tool to do make a smooth transistion from say the goblet to the stem? What tool(s) do you recommend?

I defer to the experts (as I, at this point, certainly are not one! :)

Thanks for any and all assistance you can provide.

Christopher Hunter
01-12-2007, 12:30 PM
First quesion I have is how long are the goblets or blanks? you may be getting vibration because the length is too long -- for this I would add a steady rest -- if the length is under 6" I would quess that your angle of attack is slightly off...
hope this helps
--Chris

Ken Fitzgerald
01-12-2007, 12:50 PM
Walt.......Welcome to the Creek!

IF you have fast internet service you might want to go to the Woodcraft website and watch the Sorby video on turning a goblet.