PDA

View Full Version : Start up business

Eric Chivers
01-08-2007, 10:48 PM
I am interested in starting a business in the CNC routing and wordcarving market. I have no industry specific experience but am quite comfortable learning just about any software and I have better than average mechanical understanding.

Any advise about equipment and products from someone with experience.

I have been searching the web for information. It looks like an extremely gratifying business from a creative point of view, but not sure on the financial potential.

Thanks for any input.

Eric:)

Mitchell Andrus
01-08-2007, 11:15 PM
Welcome to the Creek.

I spend my day doing what I love... making furniture....., and marketing, selling, taking orders, fixing tools, sweeping, learning Corel, Photoshop, Sketchup, designing magazine ads, sending faxes, stacking wood, billing and bookeeping, filling out tax forms, paying bills, brown nosing clients... you get the idea.

Love what you do first, then build a business around that. Buy machines and tools as you go. It took me ten years to get established and my market matured to the point that I could afford a laser and keep it busy enough to be a worthwhile investment. It cost as much as ALL of my other tools combined, and I have a shop Norm Abrams would be comfortable in.

Not a wet blanket, I hope. It just seemed like you needed to hear from someone who's been there, done that, and can show you where every bruise is.

If you are going to make carved signs, check and see if there are 8 others doing this nearby already. If there is NOBODY in the sign business nearby, figure out why not - have they all dried up and blown away? Same goes for small gift shops, flea markets, trophies, etc.

Perhaps working in a small shop for someone else for a while will help you conjure a plan.

Good luck.

Joe Pelonio
01-09-2007, 8:38 AM