PDA

View Full Version : New member introduction

Joel Ficke
01-08-2007, 6:03 PM
Hi All,

Haven't been browsing this forum all that long but really enjoy what I've seen so far. I've been a fan of Bob Smalser and Malcolm Tibbetts for years, so seeing those names gave me the needed nudge to join. What's particularly nice is the real user name idea combined with threads that appear to be on-topic with substance. I've been a member at WWA for a few years and now am looking to expand a little :rolleyes: -- looks like there's some familiar faces here too.

Well about me. I'm 40, married, with 3 children, work as a circuit designer out of my home during the daylight, and then in the shop during the evening. I've been woodworking for about 12 years, but it seems only in the last 5 have I been serious about learning new techniques and building quality stuff. Classes have been invaluable in that regard. Lately I've been on a free-fall into the hand-tool canyon and building early American reproductions -- hopefully that will keep my attention for years to come.

Just wrote a short essay for the FWW web site if you want to have a look at the latest project. http://www.taunton.com/finewoodworking/SkillsAndTechniques/SkillsAndTechniquesArticle.aspx?id=28042
Hopefully you can still read it without a web subscription.

I do have a question for the experts right away. I picked up a huge spiral head jointer locally. It's made by a European company called Advantage, and I'm wondering where to get replacement blades. I can't find the company via google, so I suspect they went under or were bought out (the machine was new in the 70s). OWWM doesn't have anything either. Does anyone have supplier ideas for 21" spiral cutters or any information on the company itself?

Look forward to getting to know everyone better. Thanks in advance for your replies.

Bob Reda
01-08-2007, 6:34 PM
Joel, Cna't help you on the spiral head but wanted to welcome you to the creek

Bob

everett lowell