PDA

View Full Version : New Woodworker

Jason Nelson
01-05-2007, 5:30 PM
I am just beginning as a woodworker and I would like some assistance if possible. I would like to, one day make this my full time business. But what do I decide to go into or make? Your advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Neil Lamens
01-05-2007, 5:38 PM
Hi Jason..........gonna need a bit more information. Give us an experience level, age, idea of what you have built so far, what machines you have, present shop.

Give some meat to crew-on a bit..........you'll get real good answers here answers.

Before others think me rude......welcome.

Mike Henderson
01-05-2007, 5:38 PM
There's an old joke in woodworking- furniture makers win awards, cabinet makers make money. Cabinet makers refers to kitchen cabinets.

Welcome to the creek.

Mike

Ken Fitzgerald
01-05-2007, 5:40 PM
Jason ......Welcome to the Creek!

A beginning woodworker and you'd like to go pro?......The first thing I'd advise is getting education and training in the field and couple that with a some experience. Take a few classes....offered at local colleges....Woodcraft stores......build a library of educational material on woodworking. I am just a hobbiest but I can tell you that a lot of people start woodworking businesses and soon go out of business. Starting a business and making a living is difficult at best. I'd also take some business classes. A lot of businesses fail because of bad business decisions. Good luck with you endeavors!

Again.....Welcome to the Creek!

Jason Nelson
01-05-2007, 5:48 PM