PDA

View Full Version : "Best" bowl gouge

Jason Morgan
01-05-2007, 12:02 PM
I am thinking this is a highly loaded question, but I am just starting out in turning (got my lathe and a starter tool set, grinder, wolverine, chuck, etc. etc.) and I am looking for a good first bowl gouge. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Jason

Dario Octaviano
01-05-2007, 12:26 PM
Best? Look at Glaser Hitec Gouge.

Best value IMHO is Crown ProPM... best price I know is here http://www.woodchipshome.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=WC&Category_Code=BG

Gordon Seto
01-05-2007, 12:30 PM
Jason,

It all depends on how you use the gouge, what angle and how you are approaching the wood. There are better steel gouges; but the flute shape and grind has to fit your style.
I tried to buy the tools and change the grind of my gouges after watching every famous demonstrator's demo when I first started. It didn't do anything to my turning except my tools are shorter.
Some guy's signature - "It is not the arrow, its the Indian" woke me up. Everybody has his(her) unique style of turning.

Join a local turning club if you can. Hopefully you can try out different tools and see what is best for you.

Gordon

David Walser
01-05-2007, 12:30 PM
Jason,

I'd suggest you start with a 1/2" bowl gouge made from HSS (high speed steel). I'd also suggest you go cheap rather than go for a "name brand" tool. If you are like most of us, you'll spend a lot of time (and steel) learning how to grind a proper edge. Might as well make that learning process as inexpensive as possible. Once you know how to sharpen and have enough experiance to know what type of "flute" you want, you might want to buy a more expensive model.

Here's a link to something that is along the lines of what I am suggesting:

http://www.pennstateind.com/store/lx220.html