PDA

View Full Version : AZ wood ID help

Mike Vickery
01-04-2007, 8:04 PM
I picked up some log sections at a tree trimmer today and was wondering if anyone had a good idea what they were. This is all that I could fit in my Saturn. I may go back tomarrow.

Location was in Phx AZ area

I have an idea but do not want to influence anyones guess.
I will say my first thought was Mesquite but the bark is a whiteish gray color that looks like mesquite but is a much lighter than the Mesquite that I haev seen before. Also I usually do not see this much sap wood and it as white as it is on this log. But I am not a Mesquite expert by any meens.
Thanks in advance for any help.

Christopher K. Hartley
01-04-2007, 9:46 PM
It looks a whole lot like the Elm I got recently. You can see what I mean here: http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=46391 :)

John Hart
01-04-2007, 9:52 PM
It looks a whole lot like the Elm I got recently.:)

Yep...that's my guess too. An elm in the back yard of our old house had that same thick band of white sapwood and an appealing dark brown center.

Looks great, whatever it is! Congratulations Mike!

Martin Braun
01-04-2007, 11:24 PM
If it didn't have thorns on it, then it wasn't native :) . I'm sure it's not mesquite. The closest mesquite would get to those colors is maybe velvet mesquite, but the texture of the bark rules that out. By the way, the Riparian preserve on Guadalupe & Greenfield (behind the library) is a great place to check out some native trees. That said, so much of the suburban wood around here is non-native, so there's a lot of "mystery wood" to be had.

I have some wood that I picked up from down the street. Bulk trash day almost always yields logs somewhere in the neighborhood. I have no idea what it is, but boy it stinks - a weird kind of bush smell to it.

Curt Fuller
01-04-2007, 11:37 PM
That's simple, it's danged nice wood. Send one of those chunks my way an I'll get right down to the nitty gritty of it.

Jason Hallowell