PDA

View Full Version : Table saw extension wings

Alan Greene
01-03-2007, 11:32 AM
Happy New Year to everyone.

I am fairly new to the forum. I have some questions about leveling my Craftsman 22124 TS wings.

What is an acceptable flatness for the wings? The left wing is less than .001" in the front but .010 at the back. The right wing I have only been able to get to .024 front to back. This is measured at the point farthest from the blade using a new Lee Valley straight edge and feeler gages.

I am using cut up soda cans for the spacers. Is there anything better to use? Should I put the spacers so they are around the bolt or at the bottom of the wing?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

As I am fairly new let me tell you a little about myself. I learned to woodwork in England at a young age (a kind of apprenticeship) using only hand tools. Family and military obligations leave me "re-sharpening" my hand tool skills and learning about power tools. I am a disabled veteran who is using my woodworking as therapy and a hobby. The LOML is extremely supportive of this and has helped immeasurably. I have completed one project, a large cabinet for the laundry room, which needs to be redone. I have definitely learned from those mistakes.

I have been devouring information on the web and am impressed by the level of camaraderie and information available here:) :) :) , and some other sites.:)

Rod Sheridan
01-03-2007, 12:22 PM
Hi, I also have used the aluminum from soda cans as shims. and it works almost as well as brass stock.

I measured my tablesaw a few months ago and it is within 0.10mm (0.004 inches). Certianly flat enough for woodworking considering that many people use router tables made of wood. I wouldn't worry about being 0.01 inches out, however your other measurement is too far out of tolerance.