PDA

View Full Version : Cutting 1 oz. or 2 oz. Copper on Circuit Boards

Gary Gilbert
01-02-2007, 11:05 PM
I am in the process of consideration o purchasing either an Epilog or VersaLaser system.
Among the many thing I could forsee using would be simple circuit board prototype copper etching.

Circuit boards have 1 oz or 2 oz - I don't know what that would translate into thickness, however.

I can buy bare copper boards incredibly cheap, and would like to etch simple circuits by removing the copper I didn't want.

Does anyone have any experience with this?
What power level might be required? Speed?

Then, cutting the board through to remove sections - anyone done that?

Thanks!!!

Gary

Bill Cunningham
01-02-2007, 11:14 PM
I'm a Ham Radio Operator, (VE3HHW) and thought of this a few years back, but nope, "my" laser won't touch it.. I don't know if someone with a 60 or 100 watt machine can do it, but I have my doubts... What you could do, is paint it black, use the laser to etch off the paint to expose the copper to be removed, then use your normal etching soloution to etch the exposed copper away. It would sure beat putting a photoresist on, and making a negative..

John LeBlanc
01-02-2007, 11:26 PM
I think you'll find that a mini CNC machine is a better choice overall. Google a guy named John Kleinbauer and CNC and you'll find a web site with DIY plans and plenty of information to consider. (Granted, most people aren't interested in making their own CNC machine, but the web site provides plenty of easy-to-understand information about what it can do and what to look for.)

Good luck to you. The last PCB I made I did the old fashioned way -- and that was a long, long time ago!

John

Dave Jones
01-03-2007, 2:39 AM
These lasers won't cut copper or fiberglass. You need a YAG or very high power CO2.

Cheaper to use a place like Sierra Proto Express. Three double sided boards in a week for under $100.

Gary Gilbert
01-03-2007, 10:12 AM
Thanks, guys.