PDA

View Full Version : Newbee

Dave Bureau
01-02-2007, 11:09 AM
Hello all:

I am looking for information an laser engravers. I'm new to this and don't have experience with them. i don't want something that I will want to upgrade after a short time. I would like information on Brand, price, size and anything else I should be looking for. Also I have no experience with programs like Corel. Am I in trouble here without the program knowledge? Any thoughts would be appreciated, good or bad.
thanks
dave

Vicky Orsini
01-02-2007, 11:38 AM
Hi Dave.

What are you looking to do with your laser? Do you have an existing business that you're adding the laser to, or are you planning to start a new business with your laser?

About Corel: Check out your local community college. A lot of them offer evening/continuing ed courses on graphics programs like Corel. Corel is the industry standard for running these machines. I taught myself how to use Corel (with a little help from my friends on these types of forums), so if I can do that, anyone can learn to use it. :D

As far as brand, price, etc... that all depends on what you're going to do with the laser. Figure out your budget constraints beforehand. You can easily spend anywhere between $20,000 to $60,000 and up, and the salespeople will be more than willing to help you decide that the higher-priced machines are your better option. ;) Once you've determined how much you want to spend, contact the 5 main manufacturers (Universal Laser Systems, Epilog Lasers, LaserPro, Trotec and Xenetech) and arrange for demonstrations of the machines in your price range. Just so you know, LaserPro is also known as GCC, and is also sold under the name of Pinnacle by one distributor in the US. Alternatively, you can attend a trade show where all manufacturers are present. There's a big one coming up in Vegas - the ARA Show (Awards & Recognition Association).