PDA

View Full Version : Ash Hollow Form

Mike Ramsey
01-02-2007, 10:34 AM
This is my first attempt at a hollow form with collar & finial. Turned this
back in Sept. The collar & finial are Mesquite, it was the darkest wood
I had at the time, wish it had been darker for more contrast between the
Ash. Be cruel if you like, I can handle it.

Ken Fitzgerald
01-02-2007, 10:37 AM
How can you be cruel to someone recovering from surgery?

Besides......That's a beauty Mike! We wouldn't expect anything else from you! Well done!

I agree a darker wood would have provided more contrast but there's nothing wrong with what you've got!

John Timberlake
01-02-2007, 10:39 AM
Great job. Sometimes less contrast can be better and I think this is one of those cases. Love it, particularly the shape of the hollow form.

Steve Schlumpf
01-02-2007, 10:40 AM
Nothing wrong with this hollow form! Beautful wood, form and finish! I have to admit that I was surprised when you removed the finial - looked to me like it would have been attached at the collar and been one piece.

Nice work!

Keith Burns
01-02-2007, 2:24 PM
Mike, you did a great job on this, especially for your first. The only thing I can be cruel about is the finial which could be a little more delicate (IMHO). Overall it is a great piece, very appealling, ya done good:) :)

Mike Ramsey
01-02-2007, 3:49 PM
I totally agree that the Finial is a bit Fat. The second one I turned
was quite a bit more streamlined. I had planned on changing the finial
on this one but before I could do it it was taken by a member of my turning
club in an exchange and wouldn't let me change it!

Christopher K. Hartley
01-02-2007, 3:51 PM
That Ken is just an old softie! He wouldn't be acting like that if Andy was around. Well, I don't have any sympathy for you. Hospital or no, anyone who can produce something like this has got to be 100% and if you anrn't, don't tell us. Let us have a little bit of dignity. :mad: