PDA

View Full Version : Awesome Christmas gift -- if I ever get it...

Lisa Gilbert
01-01-2007, 3:43 PM
I'm brand new to turning -- my 13-year-old son and I took a pen class at Woodcraft and got totally hooked -- and brand new to the forum, but you all seem to be a neat bunch of folks, and I look forward to benefitting from your collective wisdom.

My wonderful husband ordered me a Jet 1442 (he doesn't start small) for Christmas. I say "ordered" rather than "got" since we live in the Black Forest in Colorado, and the snow has made the actual getting of the machine impossible. The first blizzard delayed it getting through Denver before Christmas. (We got 30" out here, so couldn't have gotten out to get it anyway.) We got an e-mail on Friday (day 2 of the 2nd storm) saying they had the lathe, but they weren't open due to the snow. We finally got dug out (only 24" this time) yesterday at 3:45, and I called to see if they were open, and they were closing at 4:00, so I have to wait until tomorrow!

I will probably spend a lot of time making pens, because I already have a bunch of people who want them, but I am a flutist, and once I gain enough skill, I would love to try some wooden flutes (I already have a purpleheart mouthpiece and it's incredible). The technical aspects of getting them in tune guarantees I will produce lots of kindling for our wood stove, but I love the sound of a wooden flute, so it will be worth the failures. That would give me the chance to join my passion for music with what looks to be a likely obsession with turning wood!

David Fried
01-01-2007, 4:21 PM
Congratulations on your first post and new lathe!!! Welcome to the Abyss!!

I too made the mistake of taking a pen making class at Woodcraft. All down hill from there. Enjoy!!

Ken Fitzgerald
01-01-2007, 4:22 PM