PDA

View Full Version : Design Ideas for Easy Wiring Entertainment Centers

Ken Close
01-01-2007, 3:37 PM
Greetings. This is my first post and I am asking about a topic that will support my design of an entertainment center for a wide screen TV. I am a novice furniture maker, but have many "carpentry" projects under my belt. I have a full shop and 200bf of cherry just waiting to be turned into an entertainment center. Later posts will share my concept and seek critique.

For now, my lurking has yielded a bunch of threads on entertainment centers, with design pictures and suggestions. These have been great. Folks here are obviously talented and experienced. And yet I have seen few (actually none) comments about a common and troublesome headache--how can you set up the design to facilitate the wiring hookup of all of the components.

I would appreciate comments and suggestions of places to look for additional information, including threads here at the Creek which I probably missed, and other useful URLs. (It has been amazing and frustrating to use Google and even Ask and not find any relevant sites/articles which might discuss this topic.)

What do you have to suggest? Thanks for any advice, and I appreciate how welcoming all of your regulars are to newcomers.

Ken

PS: I have searched and found several messages coaching on file size limits for upload (100K max) but I did not see any hints on reasonable sizes. Image editors of course can export optimized file sizes and you can resize in any amount, but what are recommended image sizes (dimensions) which show detail yet do not put too much load on the servers?

Alex Berkovsky
01-01-2007, 3:47 PM
Ken,
Welcome to the forum. IIRC, Popular Woodworking mag came out with an issue recently covering the topic. I will try to go through my stack and find it.

Ted Baca
01-01-2007, 4:24 PM