PDA

View Full Version : New Tool Gloat

Chuck Beland
01-01-2007, 3:11 PM
I got enough money from my customers to get me my
X Mas gift I order it tomorrow. A brand spanking new Band saw

RIKON 14" Deluxe Bandsaw

Rikon Model 10-325 features 2 speeds (1445 & 2950 ft/min), 13" resaw capacity and a powerful 1-1/2 HP 110/220V motor.

http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=20041

This will be my first ever bandsaw.

& LOML got me the Barracuda II chuck. So I can finally do other things besides pens.

Christopher K. Hartley
01-01-2007, 3:19 PM
Way to go Chuck. Nice saw! Many happy Bowl Blanks to you and the Mrs. Well actually, she will probably get most of the bowls.:eek:

Ken Fitzgerald
01-01-2007, 4:19 PM
Congrats Chuck! Let us know how that 14" Rikon works!

Chuck Beland
01-01-2007, 4:21 PM
Thanks Chris,
I've got a lot of reading to do in order to use this saw safely. Especially since I've never used or owned one before.

Yup I can't wait to try my hand at some bowls & Inside out turning.

Chuck

Steve Schlumpf
01-01-2007, 10:44 PM
Congrats on the new saw Chuck! Just checked out the link you provided and it looks like quite the saw!

You'll find that a bandsaw is one of the easier tools to use once you get it set up correctly. You'll love it.

One suggestion - when cutting out bowl blanks - make sure that the wood is firmly seated on the table. If the wood is held at an angle or not supported on one section while cutting - the blade could grab instead of cut. This slams the wood down and stalls the machine. Had this happen a couple of times and it cost a blade for each lesson! Be smarter than me!

Mark Singer
01-01-2007, 10:47 PM
Nice looking saw!

Corey Hallagan
01-01-2007, 10:49 PM
Congrats Chuck! Enjoy the new saw!

Corey

John Hart
01-02-2007, 6:29 AM
Pretty nice! I'm jealous.:o

Chuck Beland
01-02-2007, 2:20 PM