PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening: is it just me?

Marc Hills
11-15-2003, 6:00 AM
Confession time: I actually enjoy sharpening. I can't really explain it, but there is something quietly contemplative and satisfying about sharpening a plane iron or a chisel (well, not a 1/4" chisel, or the iron on my Stanley Handyman, that's just plane frustrating).

Yes, it's annoying to interrupt a project to restore an edge, but other than that, I find the honing process oddly enjoyable. Is this some sort of bizarre side trail on the slippery slope?

FYI: I hand sharpen, don't use jigs and in addition to an AlOx coarse/dry stone, I use two whet stones of unknown composition bought at antique stores. I finish up with stropping by leather and polishing compound and then do the old "shave the hairs on your forearm" test. Incidentally, parts of my forearm are startomg to give my wife's freshly shaven legs a run for their money.

I'm still relatively new at this. Will I outgrow this phase, or is therapy in order?

Harold Blair
11-15-2003, 7:06 AM
Marc: Like most folks who do a lot of woodwork with hand tools, I have tried just about all forms of sharpening (grinder, scary sharp, diamond, Arkansas stones, Japanese water stones, Tormek water grinder, etc.). About a year ago I purchased two Norton water stones (1000 and 8000). With the exception of setting the initial edge with the Tormek, I use the Norton stones exclusively. They cut extremely fast and of course the result is very, very sharp. I still do not particularly like to sharpen but the Norton stones make it much easier. Harold

Martin Shupe
11-15-2003, 8:32 AM
At the Marc Adams school this past summer, they let us sharpen on Shapton waterstones. WOW! I liked them a lot; so much, in fact, that I should have a set in my mailbox any day now.

Kelly Mehler does his chisels by hand, but I cheated and used the Veritas jig from Lee Valley.