PDA

View Full Version : Non-craft show products

Dan Gill
12-29-2006, 11:44 AM
I'm a long-time Creeker, but just looking into the laser engraving. My wife is recently retired (29 years in middle school :eek: ), and I'm a technical writer for a software company. We're both pretty techie, and I have a background in Corel (many years ago). We want to look into laser engraving as a sideline, but other commitments will make it difficult or impossible to go the craft show route.

What products would you recommend for non-craft-show folks, and how would you look to market those products? We're in the DFW area, so we have a broad business and consumer base to draw on. We're early in the process, not even at the point of deciding which laser we want. I know that the market comes first, not the equipment. And I know that the folks on the Creek are a great source of info.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Dan Gill

Karin Voorhis
12-29-2006, 12:41 PM
Depending on what route you want to take you could:

network and do metal marking

online store

Sign making is another area

awards taking personal orders through a lot of networking or publication advertising.

create a one of a kind product and market to stores from you area

The laser is more a marketing game then anything as I see it.

I hope this helps I am such a green newbie and all that I am not the one to give advice really but hey I thought maybe I could help out.

Leigh Costello
12-29-2006, 12:53 PM
We have had a bit of success marketing to local clubs and organizations. We do not do trophies, because of the enormous amount of competition in the STL area, but we do take orders for recognition awards such as plaques, commemorative glassware, etc.

If you do decide a laser is for you, check out all of your options and read as much as you can on this forum and others. Knowledge is power, as I am sure you know.

Good luck!

Leigh Costello

Epilog Mini 24 45W

Gary Hair
12-29-2006, 2:58 PM
Dan,