PDA

View Full Version : Giant ambitions... Midget abilities

Dan Larson
12-29-2006, 11:29 AM
I aspire to create beautiful furniture. But since I’m a rank amateur woodworker, I set my ambitions for projects this year to be more in line with the level of my limited skills. I chose a few small projects this year that would force me to stretch beyond my comfort zone, and I tried to focus on executing them as well as I could. Looking back, it’s been a fun journey. These projects lead me to lots of new territory… building a router table… learning to properly sharpen neander tools… chisels, handplanes, & scrapers… building & using a shooting board… chopping mortises by hand… using a handsaw... and many other new experiences.

The first project I’d like to share with you is a cutting board. Woods used in this project are sheuda, panga-panga, and ebony... I made the board for my mother-in-law who is fascinated by exotic woods.

I experimented for quite a while with scrap wood to find the right finish to use. Every oil based finish that I tried turned the sheuda into a lifeless black mess. A tip from a fellow Creeker got me to look into wax finishes. I ended up going with just a good coat of plain old beeswax.

Dan Larson
12-29-2006, 11:32 AM
The next project was modeled from a few projects posted a few years ago by Mark Singer. I always admired his “extruded” trays and thought I could learn a lot by trying my hand at one or two. I tried to be faithful as I could to his design aesthetic, but I think I missed the boat on a few aspects. Oh well… a true learning experience! My first attempt is white oak and walnut with a Tried & True oil finish.

There were a few things about my craftsmanship on this piece that make me cringe, so I tried again on a second tray.

Dan Larson
12-29-2006, 11:34 AM
The second tray is padauk and wenge. A little more refined this time…