PDA

View Full Version : Chamfering with a bench plane?????

jonathan snyder
12-28-2006, 10:27 PM
Hi Folks,

I'm working on a small end table, kind of shakeresque style. I'm looking to chamfer the underside of the top so it doesn't look so chunky.

Can I do this with a bench plane, a #5 perhaps? How do I keep the chamfer angle and width constant?

I was thinking about using double stick tape to attach a fence of sorts to the panel. This might help to keep the chamfer width equal.

I don't know, I'm kind of new to this Neander thing. Any and all help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Jonathan

Kevin Blunt
12-28-2006, 10:47 PM
Hi Jonathan,

Not sure if you are willing to go this route but if you are this is your ticket. I recently pruchased a LV/Veritas LA block plane and just for christmas received the chamfer guide that was built especially for this plane. May cost you upwards of $150 but if you are going to be doing alot of this type of stuff it may be worth your while. The whole setup is excellent quality by the way. check out these links to see what i am talking about.

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=32685&cat=1,41182

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=46296&cat=1,41182

Just one other thought, what about using a router. Is this not an option?

kevin

Roy Wall
12-28-2006, 10:51 PM
Jonathan,

I am no neander expert ... but you have a good idea of setting up a fence.

The best plane would be a low angle block....but if you only have a #5 then that becomes your "best plane"!

I would test on a scrap board similar to your top to get the hang of it first. Scribe a line on the thickness edge - and then on the underside edge - so you'll know when to stop and be consistent.