PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening question

Jason Morgan
12-28-2006, 12:25 PM
I have a question about sharpening with a wolverine jig. Ive never used one and am a little leary about the configuration its in. Isnt the "gouge" sharpening geometry just asking to catch the tool and drive it into the wheel? I realize a "light" touch is needed, but has anyone ever exploded a wheel with one of these? Given the number of wolverine systems out there and their prevalence here I would think my worries are a little unfounded.

Thanks,

Jason

Liem Tran
12-28-2006, 12:41 PM
Jason, I'm no expert but I've been using the Wolverine alot the past few months. I think it makes life awhole lot easier and safer when it comes to sharpening. Pennstateind.com has a very similiar jig that comes with everything you need for awhole lot less. It maybe worth while to take a look.

Liem

Bob Hallowell
12-28-2006, 12:46 PM
I took a big chunk out of my good blue wheel. Now I just use the standard strong grey wheel. and it works better. I was always getting grooves in the blue wheel.

Bob

Gordon Seto
12-28-2006, 1:43 PM
I took a big chunk out of my good blue wheel. Now I just use the standard strong grey wheel. and it works better. I was always getting grooves in the blue wheel.

Bob That is exactly the reason why you want to use the Aluminum Oxide wheel (color doesn't matter); you want the wheel to break down to expose new sharp cutting surface for your turning tool. The gray wheel doesn't break down, the tool steel would load up on the wheel. When the glaze formed on the surface, the wheel won't cut, instead of sharpening, it generats heat and burns your tool edge. Just use a dresser to clean up the wheel, you are good to go.
Watch the free DVD that came with last year's membership.
BTW, there are various hardness on AO wheels.

Gordon

Steve Schlumpf
12-28-2006, 2:11 PM