PDA

View Full Version : I need someone good with tools to help, Please!

John Sherrod
12-28-2006, 7:25 AM
Hi, I am an amateur woodworker who's only schooling on it has been watching with amazement Norm Abrams and the router workshop guys. I had an opportunity to buy a whole woodshops' worth of tools, which I did. I have used them quite a bit over the last eight years, and they have served me well. But, one thing I have virtually NO idea how to do is tune them. I bought something called a Jointer pal and changed the blades in my Jet jj6csx, and have YET to be able to get it right, so I can't use it. I noticed recently that my table saw blade is askew of a true 90 degree angle, and I have altered the fences' track accordingly(it was completely pulling the board away from the fence), but it makes for really lousy tenons with my tenoning Jig(the blade facing the back is about 1/32" to the left, it is a delta contractors saw if that helps) I have a bandsaw (again, a jet, 12") that I have never been able to get right. I wound up using my jig saw for anything in that general area. I bought a timber wolf blade, still have it wrapped in the origional packaging, because I took the advice of a guy at woodcrafters who said that all i needed to do was adjust the tracking, and tighten the tension a bit. lol, well, I did, and the blade that was in it worked well for about twenty seconds until it snapped.
Anyways, does anyone know of someone in the pinellas area of florida who knows how to tune this stuff? I would love to get it working right.:confused:

Randy Carver
12-28-2006, 7:47 AM
Sorry, I'm not near Florida. For the jointer knives, watch Bob Vaughn's video here -
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2983839096587014177&q=jointer+knives

Don't give up!
Randy

Jim Hager
12-28-2006, 8:00 AM