PDA

View Full Version : Have we got any steam benders here?

David Rose
11-14-2003, 4:52 AM
I've decided that I need to bend some 3/4 x 3" cedar into about a 2' radius for edging on my arbor arch. This is my first attempt at it though I have read a little on the subject.

Everyone recommends a new gas can for the boiler. I went around town tonight searching for a metal can. The "little boy" at Lowes informed me that metal was much too dangerous a container for gasoline. :rolleyes: I resisted the temptation to ask him what was used for the past 100 years. Well, I'm not quite that old, but do remember when cheap junk was made of plastic and you bought metal to get a good "one" of whatever. At any rate NO one had a metal gas can!

To the question... finally. Sorry. I dug out a propane boiler/deep fryer that we got as a gift one Christmas and never passed on or used. So I have a burner and stand and maybe the boiler. Before I ruin the lid on the 30 quart boiler with a major hole I question the lid seal. The lid has a curve to fit the curved lip of the boiler but no other seal. The lid is a little flexible but I can hold it down with something spanning the top to the handle on either side. Will a steam leak at this point be a major problem? I doubt that weather strip glue would hold up for long.

Thanks for any ideas

David

Todd Burch
11-14-2003, 7:58 AM
Hi David. Steam leaks at the lid won't be a problem. Remember, you are not making a pressure boiler, just a boiler.

You'll have to drill a hole in the lid and affix some type of collar. A gas can would be easier.

Do you have any small "mom & pop" hardware stores in your area that you could look for a metal gas can? I bought one a few years ago, for this same purpose, and searched far and wide. I finally found one. Several months later, I was in a commercial chain-saw / lawn-care supply store and was tripping over them they had so many.