PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use or see the palmgren lathe

Bob Hallowell
12-26-2006, 11:44 AM
Amazon has this on slae right now for $289,

It has a 15" swing 38 between centers 8x1" and mt2 tapers so all my chucks would work but best of all the speeds go down to 360rpm. Let me know what you guys think cause my starter grizzly needs replaced. And this might be a good place to start till I can save up a couple grand.

Bob
http://www.amazon.com/Palmgren-84315-Horsepower-Benchtop-Woodworking/dp/B00068U88A/sr=1-11/qid=1167150527/ref=sr_1_11/105-8951055-1610049?ie=UTF8&s=hi

http://www.palmgren.com/pdf/woodworking12.pdf

John Hart
12-27-2006, 6:16 AM
Like I said in a PM Bob, I have no experience with this lathe but it shore seems to be a great price. Bernie had some trouble with his and some irritation with sears on service...but I'm hearing that Palmgren gives better response. This is one of Bernie's threads from a while back:
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=41916&highlight=belt

Bobby Perry
12-27-2006, 8:55 AM
Bob I ordered one of these yesterday. Should be here Jan 11th. I talked to Palmgren. They told me they do built craftsman lathes to craftsmans specks. He said we build our lathes to our specks. They have our name on them and we have been around a long time and expect to be around a lot longer. I was impressed. Now we will see what kind of machine I will get.

Bernie Weishapl
12-27-2006, 10:33 AM
Bob as I said in the PM go with the Palmgren. I think there lathes with their name is built to a better standard. I also think you get a whole lot better service. The only saving grace I have with Sears is I got a 5 yr. extended warranty. The problem is their repairman has never worked on a lathe before. So basically he brought the parts and I did the work.

Bob Hallowell
12-27-2006, 10:42 AM
I just ordered it, for $290 shipped how could i go wrong. Now to build a table!

Bob

Bobby Perry
12-27-2006, 10:47 AM
Now we will both have the same lathe. :)