PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a picture of MM pillow blocks

Mark Hubler
12-21-2006, 9:33 PM
I have read various posts on how some of the Minimax saws attach the motor assembly via "pillow blocks". Does anyone have any pictures on what this looks like? I also wondered if, as the blade is moved from 90 degrees to 45 degrees, doe the blade move sideways too?

Jim Becker
12-21-2006, 10:21 PM
I don't know if this is what you are referring to, but here's a scan from the Technomax S315 WS and S350 WS brochure that shows the trunnion/motor setup. Not all the machines use this setup, however. For a slider, I believe that the blade stays in the same plane when it's tilted for a bevel cut, but I can't prove that...yet. Perhaps Lou Sansone or Bill Grumbine can chime in on that.

Rick Lizek
12-22-2006, 7:42 AM
When I worked as a tech for a dealer ten years ago the Minimax SC3 slider used a sort of pivot instead of a trunion. It was obviously a step to keep the price down. It worked fine and did change the relationship of the measuring scale if you tilted the saw but it wasn't enough to get anyone really upset. We sold a ton of those saws as it was the only slider for the low money. Initially we were selling them for $3,300. It was a great saw for entry level. You won't find it on the more expensive Minimax saws. If they ar still using the pivot it would be on the low end saw. It's not a pillow block at all. Just a low profile small pivot located right under the table to keep it as close to the workings of a trunnion as possible.

lou sansone
12-22-2006, 8:25 AM
I have read various posts on how some of the Minimax saws attach the motor assembly via "pillow blocks". Does anyone have any pictures on what this looks like? I also wondered if, as the blade is moved from 90 degrees to 45 degrees, doe the blade move sideways too?