PDA

View Full Version : Laserbuzz Items - Stain Before or After?

Bill Stein
12-19-2006, 6:31 PM
I've been doing Laserbuzz wall tributes for a few months. Following Buzz's video tips and hints, I've always cut first and then stained which made sense since I was using two different colors of stain.

But now I have an order for about 200 wall tributes and the customer wants all of the pieces to be stained one color -- Early American. So I'm wondering if it would be better to stain the board and then cut the pieces. Or, if you recommend cutting first, can I leave the pieces "assembled" after cutting and stain all three pieces in one fell swoop which I think will cut down on the time required but, more importantly, cut down the space required to stain and dry. But, of course, then the edges don't get any stain which I don't see as a problem as they come out of the laser a nice dark brown anyway. But will the stain "glue" the pieces together if I don't seperate them?

I wasn't a woodworker before I started doing the LaserBuzz stuff (and I'm still not! :( ) so I don't have any idea about the best way to stain, etc. so I'm depending on your help to lead me in the right direction.

Which brings up another question. Brush, spray cans, or rag to apply the MinWax stain? Up to now, I've used the spray cans and I like them. On this job, speed is more important than the cost of the stain so I don't mind paying for the spray cans if that is the best way to go. I'm probably not ready to invest in a spray rig and go through the learning curve just for this job.

Thanks,
Bill

p.s. Buzz, feel free to join in!

John Esberg
12-19-2006, 6:58 PM
Howdy!

I'd buy a cans of the liquid stains and load up rags. Wipe the boards down. It and even.

I've used this technique for making stands and other items in bulk. Works like a champ.

Have fun!

DAK

John Esberg
12-19-2006, 6:59 PM
Oh, and congrats on the 200 piece order!

DAK

Ray Mighells
12-19-2006, 7:57 PM