PDA

View Full Version : Delta saw ID

David Wilson
12-19-2006, 8:32 AM
I've been watching this item on an auction sight and wonder if anyone has any ideas? Listed as 3HP 3 PHASE delta tablesaw. Looks like an old unisaw. Do you agree? Also, I don't have 3 phase power, so would I be smarter changing the moter or getting a phase converter? http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=52917&stc=1&d=1166534776

David Wilson
12-20-2006, 8:24 AM
Took a drive yesterday and checked out the saw. It is an old unisaw and runs smooth. Still have to resolve the 3 phase problem and would apreciate any input.
Thanks.

Steve Schoene
12-20-2006, 8:47 AM
I have a Unisaw of a similar vintage with the cast iron base. Mine had a 1 1/2hp. 115 volt motor. When I swapped it out I did have to enlarge the hole on the side of the cabinet because the larger motor would hit before reaching full tilt. You might want to consider that in planing to change motors.

I have zero experience with phase converters and those pro's and con's so I won't say anything.

Jim Becker
12-20-2006, 8:51 AM
David, it should be easy to do a motor swap on a Unisaw, David if phase conversion proves to be less than practical for you. But for the latter, a VFD might be a good solution to consider, especially off the surplus market. If there is any power loss, it will likely not be all that noticable for most table saw work. IMHO, of course.

Chuck Saunders
12-20-2006, 8:56 AM
Don't the Unisaws have a special (proprietary) motor mount? This would make the motor swap more expensive if not more difficult.
Chuck

Bill Simmeth
12-20-2006, 9:05 AM