PDA

View Full Version : legal questions

larry merlau
12-19-2006, 7:41 AM
if a person is on private property and falls from a tree can that person sue the landowner? i am not lookin to do so ,, i have piece of property that i hunt that the landowner is concerned with this aspect of it. also if this property had public access and the landowner had no control over who comes on the property can they sue him if they were to fall from a tree? this is in michigan if that makes any differnce. thanks to the law folks that reply to this..

Robert Mickley
12-19-2006, 8:27 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if you could.

Chuck Saunders
12-19-2006, 8:57 AM
absolutely, whether the faller is invited, hired, or trespassing on the property the landowner is at risk.

No, I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice. If you need legal advise you should contact an attorney. I am not advising you to contact an attorney. I have in fact never met you, and you have not seen me. In fact the validity of this post is so highly suspect as to be hearsay.

Cecil Arnold
12-19-2006, 9:07 AM
Larry,

Any idiot with the filing fee can sue. After that it becomes a wide open crap shoot. Does the suit have merit? If the judge decides it does, then a jury of your "peers" will decide who is at fault. I'm always concerned about 12 people who are not smart enough to get out of jury duty deciding anything.

John Schreiber
12-19-2006, 9:15 AM
I'm always concerned about 12 people who are not smart enough to get out of jury duty deciding anything.
I'm sure that's a tongue-in-cheek comment, but having served on a number of juries, I have found it to be a very positive and uplifting experience. I recommend it for everyone for their own benefit and for that of society.

Joe Tonich
12-19-2006, 9:44 AM
Larry,

From what I've read, in Ohio they can't. I found this: