PDA

View Full Version : Outside the Box

Hans Braul
12-16-2006, 1:12 PM
Well, I've finally completed the box I've been working on for what seems like forever. It's a Christmas gift for my mother. The box is cherry with birdseye maple panel in the lid.
Took much longer than I thought and it has taught me some humility. Made me realize I am really a rank beginner. Here are just a couple of my mistakes, which I tried to correct as best I could:
We live and learn, and with a bit of patience try to get better with each project.

Cheers
Hans

tim rowledge
12-16-2006, 1:27 PM
Never mind the mistakes, your mother will love it. My late mother treasured a truly awful pine dovetailed sewing box I made at the age of eleven.

John Schreiber
12-16-2006, 3:43 PM
Isn't that just like a perfectionist. You make a really nice box which anybody would be pleased with and you post big pictures of the little flaws which only you would notice.

Nice work.

Jim Becker
12-16-2006, 4:11 PM
Very nice, Hans!! I do agree with John...it's good you can identify the "boo-boos", but the majority will never know they are there. It's only important that you learn from it.

Mike Henderson
12-16-2006, 5:03 PM
Hans - Your "box" looks wonderful. No one will ever notice your "mistakes". They go to prove that it was hand made in any case.

How is that top made? I see in the picture with the top open that the inside of the top is flat but the outside is a dome. I wouldn't think you'd do that with solid wood because it'd make the top too heavy.

Is that just some thin wood, maybe 1/2 inch, mitered to make that shape?

Mike

[added note: Oops, I thought that box was larger than it probably is. I thought it was a blanket chest. Sorry.]

Gilbert Vega
12-16-2006, 5:13 PM
That's a great looking box. As far as I'm concerned, my mistakes are part of what makes it "hand-made". I've been wanting to build a box for my Dad and that looks like a very nice design.

Where did you get the hinges?

Don Bullock