PDA

View Full Version : finishing my walnut...yet another

Ryan Fredrickson
12-14-2006, 11:33 PM
hey guys, i'm a complete noob with woodworking....but am learning.

Anyways, i've spent many hard hours working on building tower speakers and a large center channel.

The cabinets were covered in walnut veneer(not sure if its american or black, I think american).

That part all worked great. I wiped the walnut down with mineral spirits....and loved the way the wet look of it brought out the grain in the wood. ...but of curse this dried and went away.

But I have now stained all of the cabinets with minwax red oak (wanted to get a darker red look, almost like mohogany).

I like the color, but it kind of hides the grain and the different contrasting colors (that I saw much better when was wet with mineral spirits).

I have done a few test pieces with the stain, and semi-gloss poly over it. And it definetely brings out the grain a little (compared to just the stain over the wood).

If I was to use tung oil, or boiled linseed oil (and maybe even shellac), and then put on a few coats of my minwax semi-gloss poly. Would this posibly show the grain more...and give me a little more color. Just seems with the stain on that the darker parts of the walnut are just covered up, it doesn't have much contrast to it.

As I said though, i'm new at this but have plenty of time, and will try anything that i can get me hands on and test out. I just want to end up with a cabinet that has contrast to it, and shows the grain and is something of semi-gloss.

Steve Schoene
12-15-2006, 12:04 AM