PDA

View Full Version : Which Jack Plane?

Adriaan Schepel
12-13-2006, 10:31 PM
Hi all.

After a few years of acquiring planes and chisels, I am actually starting to do some woodwork! (Okay, I've done the odd bit here and there.)

I'm pretty well tooled up on smoothers, block planes, rebate planes, scrub planes, fore planes etc. I have all of these in wood and also steel.

What I don't have is a jack plane. This probably seems a bit dumb as it's the first plane most woodworkers acquire after a block plane.

In any case, a jack plane would be jolly useful, especially as I have some rough stock to sort out.

Given that I don't intend to use it as a precision tool, but more for the preparation of rough stock, I am happy to go with cheap and cheerful (having just spent my big bucks on an LV LA smoother).

I should also stress that is in only for occasional use. I'm a hobbyist, and most of what I acquire timberwise is already dimensioned and clean and just requires smoothing. But occasionally a jack plane would be useful to have; I'm just not going to shell out hundreds of bucks for one.

As far as I can see, there are two options for a cheap-skate like me:

1/ The Stanley-Bailey No.5 or variants. I know the general advice here is to go for a pre-war plane. Can anyone tell me anything about the variants in terms of quality (Craftsman, Sargent, Millers Falls, Record etc.)? Who made which variants? What's good? What is to be avoided?

2/ The old woodie. Maybe a razee style? Maybe this is a plane I should build if I can get a decent old woodie blade (and I can). I have a few nice chunks of New Guinea rosewood in the shed, so I s'pose I could do it (tho' I lack planemaker's floats). Any plans / designs / books you would recommend? Or would I be better to just buy one off the 'Bay and clean it up? Thoughts on the size of the mouth opening?

So many questions! Look fwd to a reply or two.

Cheers from Down Under,
Adriaan

Mike Henderson
12-13-2006, 11:02 PM