PDA

View Full Version : Cermark Settings

David Sabot
12-09-2006, 4:39 PM
I have been using Cermark for a few months and can't seem to get the setting correct. On a 25 watt machine, I had 100% power and 10% speed with 500dpi on a piece of stainless steel. The letters always seems a little hazy, not a rich dark solid black. I have increased the dpi to 600 with similar results. Any tips on some settings for a 25W machine?

Gary Hair
12-09-2006, 5:02 PM
David,
I would bet that your application of cermark is where the problem lies, not in the speed/power. I am putting on a very thin coat of cermark, you can almost see the metal through the layer I apply. Thin to the consistency of milk and brush or spray it on in a very thin layer.

The first tests I did was with the cermark not thinned at all, I didn't know I should thin it. They came out a little blurry and took two passes at P100 and S10 to get it to stick at all. Now, I use P100 and S10 with one pass and it works great. I have a 30W, 80IPS machine so adjust your settings accordingly.

Gary

Bill Cunningham
12-09-2006, 8:42 PM
I don't use a lot of cermark, so I bought the spray can one.. Although the marking was coming out perfect (also using P100/speed10)I was having a lot of problems with the can clogging..As it turns out, this forum provided the answer for me.. It seems, according to the ser# I had one of the 'bad' cans.. A quick call to my supplier (who was totally unaware of bad cans) and a followup email to Wanda at Ferro customer service, I had a replacement can within 48 hours.. I 'will' become a contributer to the creek just for this help alone..It's already a line listing in the new January 2007 budget...
As for keeping the mark 'black' make sure your metal is absoloutly clean, and free of oil or any other coating..I wipe mine down with methol hydrate before coating and have had no problems at all..

David Sabot
12-09-2006, 9:49 PM
Gary,