PDA

View Full Version : Couple of gloats and almost finished project

Mike Tempel
12-07-2006, 7:52 PM
Just wanted to post a couple of pics of my new toyl gloats and of an almost finished project. The gloats are a PM2000 (replacing a C'man contractors saw) and a new '06 Honda Goldwing (kinda like a convertible Lexus with all the bells and whistles (heated seats and grips, satellite nav, fine stereo, CB, and ABS brakes - the only thing I didn't spring for was an airbag which believe it or not is an option on this motorcycle). The project is a headboard to add to the bedroom suite that I have been toiling on for my daughter. In the past I made a dresser and mirror and two nightstands. Next may be a blanket chest for the foot of the bed then maybe a chest of drawers. Running low on QS red oak which is what this is all made of. Hope the pics come thru - I am not very good at this sort of thing.

John Miliunas
12-07-2006, 8:03 PM
Hey Mike, be careful or you'll get sawdust on that there new table saw....errrrr....scooter, I mean! :D Nice pieces, no doubt! The last 'Wing I had was a '76! :eek: They've changed just a tad since then. :rolleyes:

Looks to me like that headboard is coming along right nicely, as well! Yeah, I'm of the opinion, if you're going to do something in Oak, it may as well be qtr-sawn! Nice job, Mike! Oh, and ride safe! Remember, "shiny side goes up"! :) :cool:

Mike Tempel
12-07-2006, 8:03 PM
Here are some pics of the dresser and night stands that I previously made. Hope you enjoy.
P.S. Sorry about the mess in my daughter's room.

John Miliunas
12-07-2006, 8:19 PM
Yeah Mike, that headboard will certainly round out a beautiful looking suite! :) I especially love the contrasty woods...Gives it a very contemporary look, which I like. Well done, man! :) :cool:

Jim Becker
12-07-2006, 8:25 PM
Very nice, Mike! Congrats on the gloats. And those drawer fronts really "sing"...it's nice you're doing the bed to match!

Kurt Strandberg
12-07-2006, 8:40 PM