PDA

View Full Version : Hi all!

Dave Laukkonen
12-06-2006, 1:57 AM
So being this is my first post and all, I wanted to say hi and also get some advice. I'm pretty new to woodworking and I am wondering what my next purchase should be.

I'm debating between a scrollsaw and a bandsaw. I think I'm leaning a little more towards a scrollsaw but I wanted to hear some opinions of more experienced woodworkers. As it is right now, I make mostly small boxes (keepsake, jewelry, urns, etc.) and occassionally furniture (mostly bookshelves and chests) I'm thinking scrollsaw because of the small boxes and I thought it would be easier to work them. I'm not sure what kind of detail I could get out of a bandsaw on such a small scale. Recomendations of specific models would be helpful too. (my budget is around $300(preferably less)) I know I won't have many decent options within my budget but I hope to find something! Thanks!

Ken Fitzgerald
12-06-2006, 2:22 AM
Dave.......Welcome to the Creek!.......Don't do scroll saw stuff so I can't help you but I'm sure other members will!

Mike Null
12-06-2006, 6:22 AM
I believe I'd go with a bandsaw. Simply because it's a much more versatile saw. For fine work you can use an 1/8" blade. It won't match a scroll saw for detail but that can be done with a fret saw.

Given the budget I'd look for a used one of about 14" with two wheels instead of three.

John Timberlake
12-06-2006, 7:54 AM
Welcome to the Creek. You'll find lots of good information here.

Only you can really answer the bandsaw vs scrollsaw question. All depends on the type of work you want to do. A bandsaw will do a lot that scroll won't do like resaw, cut blanks for turning bowls, cutting curves in large furniture pieces. The scroll saw is really for fine detail work and will do inside cuts that are surrounded by wood. If you decide on the scroll saw, the DeWalt is probably the best value for the money - easy to use and change blades and big enough for most projects.