PDA

View Full Version : Staining and Finishing Exterior Doors

Jon Eckels
12-04-2006, 9:56 AM
I've got a few screen doors coming up that i'm going to have to stain and finish. They're pine, so they need a good coat of whatever to protect them. I'll be spraying whatever the topcoat is, the stain i'll do by hand.

The stain is going to be a Red Mahogany, for that i'll just use Minwax (unless someone knows of a stain/topcoat combo that's better).

Someone mentioned the Sikkens Cetol Door and Window to me, but I've no experience with Sikkens products in the past, other than knowing that they're expensive. I want something that seals the doors well, as they're going on a relatively high end home.

Please share any advice you may have, thanks.

jeremy levine
12-04-2006, 11:10 AM
I've got a few screen doors coming up that i'm going to have to stain and finish. They're pine, so they need a good coat of whatever to protect them. I'll be spraying whatever the topcoat is, the stain i'll do by hand.

The stain is going to be a Red Mahogany, for that i'll just use Minwax (unless someone knows of a stain/topcoat combo that's better).

Someone mentioned the Sikkens Cetol Door and Window to me, but I've no experience with Sikkens products in the past, other than knowing that they're expensive. I want something that seals the doors well, as they're going on a relatively high end home.

Please share any advice you may have, thanks.
I've had some good luck with minwax spar urethane, but it is as thick as a brick from the can.

Steve Schoene
12-04-2006, 4:06 PM