PDA

View Full Version : Need advise in purchasing ASH

Benjimin Young
11-27-2006, 3:00 PM
I have an opportunity to purchase about 300 board feet of rough sawn white ASH. 2 1/2 x 5 and 2 1/2 by 10ft for $2 bd/ft. It is rough sawn (possibly quarter) and has been stacked and drying in a covered but unheated building for a year. I have to drive a couple of hours to view it so I would risk renting a suitable truck to drive there and make a decision on the spot.

I am a novice lumber purchaser so I would appreciate any advise you can give me before I make the trip.
What are some board ft price ranges for rough saw ASH?
Any thoughts on what I should look out for when I get there
Tips on identifying/confirming it is ASH
Also, what are your thoughts on working with ASH

Thanks!!

scott spencer
11-27-2006, 3:11 PM
I think ash is an excellent wood to work with and can be very pretty when finished nicely. It's a bit like oak, but I think it's prettier, and I like the fact that it's not oak (like every other piece of furnture in North America!) $2/BF is a good price for nice ash...I think our local Woodcraft gets $4/bf. In the rough, it'll be a bit harder to tell how it looks as it may take on a grayish tint, but it's tends to be fairly light in color, has an open grain with bold contrast, and is a bit less prone to warping than some woods. Look for excessive knots, warpage, splits, insect holes, etc. It's not a bad idea to bring along a small block plane and lightly scratch away some of the rough surface so you can see how it looks.

http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/ash/ash%20veneer%203%20s25%20q60%20plh.jpg

Please send along some pics if you end up buying some.

Jim Becker
11-27-2006, 5:38 PM