PDA

View Full Version : Sycamore and Cherry Box - A Neaderish Experiment

Jason Tuinstra
11-25-2006, 8:44 PM
Well, there is nothing special about this box except that it is my first project in which I cut the dovetails by hand - a long way from perfect. I like my Leigh jig, but there is nothing like the look of a hand cut dovetails IMHO. I'm really proud because, while this is a nothing-special box, I used mostly hand tools in its production.

Anyway, here is what I came up with. I didn't want to buy hinges so I designed these after a little inspiration from our deep freezer. I could probably downsize them a bit, but I'm content with their overall look. I used the LN dowel plate so that I have round "tenons" going into the top and square pegs where it goes into the hinge part. I used copper nails to hold them in place and act as a pivot point.

It's not totally finished yet. I have a piece of leather cut for the bottom and some dividers for me and my wife’s watches. A few trays will ride on top of this for her earrings etc. I couldn't install them yet as I'm waiting for the BLO to dry and to spray with a coat of lacquer. Close enough for some pics though :D I don't want anyone thinking I'm slacking. :p

Thanks for looking.

Brian Lindenlaub
11-25-2006, 8:51 PM
Beautiful box, Jason. The dovetails turned out great, and I really like the hinges you came up with. Brian

Jim Becker
11-25-2006, 8:58 PM
OUTSTANDING, Jason!! The LOYL is very lucky to have a woodworker in the house that practically "walks on water". :D And the dovetails are wonderful...as is the QS sycamore.

Alex Berkovsky
11-25-2006, 8:59 PM
...while this is a nothing-special box...Jason,
You're kidding, right? Someday I hope I can produce a box as nice as this.

Jack Ferrell
11-25-2006, 9:04 PM
I hope my hand cut dovetails come out that bad. Geesh, I don't really see anything wrong with them. Cool idea for the hinges too. I think it looks really good Jason.

Brian Knodel
11-26-2006, 1:35 AM