PDA

View Full Version : Pens?

Burt Alcantara
11-24-2006, 5:55 PM
I'm new to SMC. My interest in a mini lathe is, at the moment, strictly to make tool handles. I don't have one at the moment.

In all of the forums I've visited there is a lot of talk about pens. My question is where do you sell these pens? I can certainly see the fun in making pens .I can imagine if I got into making pens I'd end up with hundreds.

Burt

Jon Shively
11-24-2006, 6:00 PM
I have only been turning for a few weeks, a couple of weeks for pens. They are selling themselves at this point! Do you or your wife work for a company that would like quality pens for meetings/visiting dignitaries, laser engraved with their name or logo? The sky is the limit.

Burt Alcantara
11-24-2006, 6:13 PM
I'm retired and my wife works at home. We're sort of hermits, she at her computer, me in the shop. Some neighbors are interested in some of my tables though.

Once I get some inventory up I was thinking of selling via garage sales as they are big in this town. Maybe I'll try a few pens, once I buy a mini, and sell them in a fancy box.

BTW, my local Woodcraft does not think much of the Rikon. They only sell Jet and One-Way. When I talk about the Rikon they all give me the business about them being junk, don't do this, don't do that..."I had one a few years back...was a piece of sit"

Wish the shipping wasn't so bad otherwise I'd order one from the web.

Burt

terry miller
11-24-2006, 7:13 PM