PDA

View Full Version : Drilling mirror chamber for kaleidoscope

Thor Sorensen
11-13-2006, 11:32 PM
I am new to turning and am planning on making kaleidoscopes that are 8 to 10" long. How would you drill a 1-5/8" hole in though the center(end grain) of a glued up block for the mirror? I have a General mini lathe with a slowest speed around 450 rpm, and a Jet 17" drill press. It seems that it would be better to do it on the lathe if I can.

What type of bit would you use?

I did a search and find mention of kaleidoscope designs that are glued up from 3 peices so the center is open and avoids the drilling. However I want to use a single block on some of them without the glue up lines.

I have been lurking for a while and learned a lot from you already - thanks.

Paul Engle
11-14-2006, 4:28 PM
Thor, I use a Fostner on either the lathe or drill press for my candle sticks, confetti lites,other drilling needs, extensions are avail at the tool stores to get the reach.450 plenty slow, may burn somewhat if you plunge too slow , but you could clean that up with parting tool or 1/2 inch skew taking light cut/s

Andy Hoyt
11-14-2006, 4:48 PM
Were it me, I'd do this on the lathe with good old fashioned twist bits. Start at maybe 3/4", then 1 3/8", and finish at 1 5/8". And I'd do so at a very low speed - perhaps 100 to 150 rpms.

I've found forstner bits to be too slow at cutting end grain and heat up far too fast.

On the other hand that 1 5/8" twist bit may well be tough to find - and pricey if/when you do.

Curt Fuller
11-14-2006, 7:53 PM
If you turn the piece round first, turning a tenon on both ends and mark your centers as exact as possible you can hold it with a scroll chuck and put a forstner bit in a drill chuck in the tailstock. Drill it half way and then turn it around and drill the other half from the other end. The hole may not be aligned perfectly but close enough to mount the mirrors. That's how I've drilled peppermills and they are within 1/16" usually.