PDA

View Full Version : Help! Old Pine Floor

Tom Ives
11-10-2006, 3:50 PM
I'm a newbie here, and have a 1931 house. I ripped up the linoleum and the luan subfloor and found the original pine (i assume) floor. It was finished at one point, but now has old adhesive all over it as well as the old dark finish. It measures 1/2" thick (and 2 1/4" wide).

Is it thick enough to sand and refinish?

And if it is, are there any thoughts about the best finish? I read about sealers (Velvit) vs poly. Is one generally better for longevity and ease, or is it a matter of opinion?

Thanks for any help!
Tom

Jim Becker
11-10-2006, 4:31 PM
Relative to thickness...1/2" is pretty thin. If that flooring isn't over a solid subfloor, I wouldn't consider sanding it at all. This is definitely a sanding job for a pro, however...pine is soft and even if you have "full thickness" to play with, it's very easy to gouge.

Tom Ives
11-11-2006, 9:21 PM
Hi Jim, sorry it's taken me so long to reply, but for some reason I couldn't get logged on all day. Anyway, I took another look and the floor is 5/8" thick. I'm not quite sure what it sits on. You said it's a job for a pro, is that cause I make take off to much?

Jim Becker
11-11-2006, 10:23 PM
Yea, you have to be really careful with pine floors. Even pros can screw them up. The wide pumpkin pine on the first floor of the 250 year old portion of our home especially in what is now our home theater room next to my office was over sanded by someone the previous owner hired and is at about the same 5/8" you describe...it's VERY bouncy, especially with the very wide joist spacing below and no subfloor to give it additional support.

Tom Ives
11-12-2006, 9:43 AM
One last question before I have to consider the linoleum my wife wants...ugh.

I did some looking in the basement and the subfloor is 1x12"s, that sit on 1x8" joists that are spaced 16"oc.

In your opinon, would it be worth a try, or time poorly spent? Thanks again for your help!

Jim Becker