PDA

View Full Version : Kern Lasers

Patrick Dillon
11-10-2006, 2:05 PM
Does anyone have experience with this laser? I've had an Epilog which I have been very happy with but was looking for something a little more
industrial. Thanks

Bruce Volden
11-10-2006, 3:08 PM
Patrick,

I have no experience but have visited the company! Top shelf in all they do!
'Course the price of their systems reflect that. I spent the better part of an afternoon visiting the staff and observing different systems, I even brought along a couple of my files to "try". I left very impressed and vowing to move up to the big league some day. I know there is at least one member of SMC who has the bragging rights to owning one, I believe he is from Wisconsin. Perhaps he will chime in??!!

Bruce

Brian Huff
11-10-2006, 3:29 PM
I am gearing up to purchase a Kern. Spent the day with Gerry and his staff and I was very impressed. I feel the quality in the Kern Lasers is top notch.

The reason I don't have Kern yet is I am preparing my shop. I have removed 20 tons :eek: of copper, stainless, aluminum and steel. Now, I am starting to enclose a section of the shop 20' x 40' for the laser shop. By spring I hope to order my Kern!:)

Brian

Patrick Dillon
11-10-2006, 3:52 PM
I am very interested in their dual purpose machines that can also cut metal. I was always under the impression that the wavelength of a co2
laser was not right for metal. Were you able to witness their machine cutting metal? I know their machines are high end and perhaps out of my
budget but I am seriously considering something in the 100 or 200 watt range. Thanks

Brian Huff
11-10-2006, 4:05 PM
Patrick-