PDA

View Full Version : 15 year old turner (intro)

Joash Boyton
11-09-2006, 11:44 PM
Hi, my name is Joash Boyton. I recently turned 15 nine days ago, I live in Perth/Australia. I have been turning for the past 4 years. Some of you will know me from other forums....WOW etc: and under other usernames.....Joash, Auzzie turner, JB_15000 etc:

I am completely obsessed with turning, and enjoy it more each day. One good fortune for me, is that I have an almost unlimited timber supply, which helps....heaps. We have 2 work-shops, one of them is mine, and since I have taken woodturning as a full-time proffesion, I now have an almost completely decked out workshop. I am a christian home-schooler, and so that is one of the benifits of home-schooling in that you have a lot more time to do profitable hands-on things.

I sell my work in major art galleries in the city of Perth, and my work has sold, and is now in Germany, Sweden, Britain, and all over Australia. I have recently won an equal first prize for 2 boxes (turned) that I entered in to the WA wood show.

I now have a website,There you can see a lot of my work.

I have also been interviewed on my woodturning: HERE (http://www.aussiecrafts.com.au/interviews/wood.html)

I have attached one photo, of a sample of my work. It is a large....very large block of Jarrah. Sanded to 2000G, and then finished with shellawax cream.

For those that watch the woodworking channel (http://www.woodworkingchannel.com/), I have been honoured by the channel, in that they have put my link on the front page as the link of the week.

Woodturning is a great thing to be into, and I hope that we see more young people become actively involved in this worthy hobby/proffesion. So if you are another "young" woodturner, I would be interested in hearing from you.

Hope I can be a good user on here, and hope to meet up with some of you,

Regards...Joash:)

Joash Boyton
11-10-2006, 12:08 AM